The school council

The Headmaster of Winchester College (ex officio)

Dr Hands was appointed as the Headmaster of Winchester College from September 2016.  He held the position of Stipendiary Lecturer at Oriel College, Oxford from 1984 to 1986 responsible for English Language and Literature undergraduates. In 1986, he began teaching at King’s School, Canterbury, where he subsequently became a Housemaster, and in 1994 moved to become Second Master at Whitgift School.  From 1997 to 2007 Dr Hands was Headmaster of The Portsmouth Grammar School and from 2007 was the Master of Magdalen College, Oxford. He was until recently Chairman of HMC. He publishes on 19th- and 20th-century literature, especially Thomas Hardy, and is a devotee of music and sport. Dr Hand’s took up his ex officio role as a member of Council in 2016.