Caer Gwent

Sally Walmsley - Housemistress

Sally Walmsley joined St Swithun's in January 2015 as head of debating and public speaking. She quickly became involved in other aspects of the school and is now a biology teacher as well as a deputy form teacher and housemistress of Caer Gwent. She is thrilled to have found such a great place to work and particularly loves getting to know more girls each year and seeing them progress through the various stages of life at school.

Sally has a degree in physiological sciences from Exeter College Oxford and a PGCE from Southampton University. Prior to joining St Swithun's she was a solicitor for 10 years working at Herbert Smith Freehills in the city and then as an in-house lawyer for a financial services company. Sally has lived in London, Paris and San Francisco during her career, but is now firmly attached to life in Hampshire.

Sally has three children with her husband Nick, and most of her time out of school is spent chasing them. Otherwise she can be found dashing out of school for a jog, cycling up a hill or trying to read a book. She enjoys living near the coast and is a member of Hayling Island Sailing Club.

Rebekah Smith - Assistant Housemistress

Rebekah joined the school in 2016, teaching in the classics department. She teaches classical civilisation and Latin, as well as some PHSE. She is also a house tutor and a M5 form tutor. She thoroughly enjoys teaching at St Swithun's and is delighted to be assistant housemistress of Caer Gwent.

Rebekah graduated with a degree in ancient history and archaeology from the University of Birmingham and completed a PGCE at Portsmouth University. Before joining St Swithun's, she taught classical civilisation at a further education college in West Sussex.

In her spare time Rebekah enjoys reading. Particular favourites are Harry Potter and the Percy Jackson series, which she encourages all of her students to read. She is also a fan of musical theatre, taking every opportunity to see a show. She also enjoys spending time with family and friends and going on long walks.